gj2

Group
Mag.Dr.Michael Jakupec,
Senior Scientist

 

 

cell culture facility

Homepage 

Publications

CV

 

 

michael.jakupec@univie.ac.at

Tel: +43 1 4277 52610

 

1090 Wien, Althanstraße 14 (UZA II),
Room: 2A544 

 

 

Research focus

Established primarily as a laboratory for studying in human cancer cells the cytotoxic potencies of the metal-based compounds synthesized at the institute – the cell culture facility has gradually expanded and developed its research profile over the years.
Our current research activities comprise the following:

  • Structure-activity relationships of metal complexes in human cancer cell lines (with data cumulated for >1000 compounds) as a basis for compound optimization
  • Accumulation and subcellular distribution of metal-based drugs in cancer cells
  • Characterization of the impact of metal compounds on cancer cells, including knock-down approaches, with the aim of gaining insights into primary targets and modes of action
  • Influence of three-dimensionality of cell culture (multicellular spheroids) and hypoxia on cytotoxic and anti-invasive compound activities

With a dedicated focus on translational anticancer drug development from laboratory to clinical application, we cooperate with the Institute of Cancer Research of the Medical University of Vienna within the Research Platform “Translational Cancer Therapy Research”.

International Collaborations

HARTINGER, Christian, University of Auckland, New Zealand 
http://hartinger.wordpress.fos.auckland.ac.nz/


KUKUSHKIN, Vadim Yu., Saint Petersburg State University, Russia
http://ptchemin.chem.spbu.ru/eng/index_1eng.php

T E A M

Dr. Konstantinos Kiakos, PostDoc



INDICAR: Interdisciplinary Cancer Research

 

konstantinos.kiakos@univie.ac.at

 Tel: +43 1 4277 52610

 

1090 Wien, Althanstraße 14
UZA II, Room: 2A544

Anton Legin, MSc

 

Subcellular Drug Distribution (NanoSIMS) 

 

 

anton.legin@univie.ac.at
Tel: +43 1 4277 52664

 

1090 Wien, Althanstraße 14
UZA II, Room: 2A552

Mag. Maria Novak

 

Topoisomerase Inhibiting Metal Complexes 

 

 

maria.novak@univie.ac.at
Tel: +43 1 4277 52664

 

1090 Wien, Althanstraße 14
UZA II, Room: 2A552

Mate Rusz, M.Sc.

LC-MS-based metabolomics, 3D Cell Culture Models

 

 

mate.rusz@univie.ac.at

Tel: +43 1 4277 52610

 

1090 Wien, Althanstraße 14
UZA II, Room: 2A544

 

Debora Wernitznig, MSc.


3D cell culture models, immunological aspects of metal based drugs and tumor immunology

 

debora.wernitznig@univie.ac.at

Tel: +43 1 4277 52650

 

1090 Wien, Althanstraße 14
UZA II, Room: 2A550

Klaudia Cseh, BSc



3D cell culture models, platinum(IV)complexes

 

klaudia.cseh@univie.ac.at

Tel: +43 1 4277 52650

 

1090 Wien, Althanstraße 14
UZA II, Room: 2A550

Margret Eckhard, BSc


Sample preparation for Transmission electron microscopy, NanoSIMS, cryofixation

 

margret.eckhard@univie.ac.at

Tel: +43 1 4277 52650

 

 

1090 Wien, Althanstraße 14
UZA II, Room: 2A550

Michaela Hejl, Lab Technician

 

 

michaela.hejl@univie.ac.at
Tel: +43 1 4277 52650
 

1090 Wien, Althanstraße 14 (UZA II),
Room: 2A540